Online dating port elgin ontario
Stores, hotels and tanneries were constructed and in March, 1857, a village plot named Port Elgin was laid out.The enterprise of its businessmen, notably Henry Hilker, Samuel Bricker and John Stafford, contributed to the development of the settlement, which had a population of over 600 by 1867."This important Iroquoian village site was discovered about 1900, and named after the family which then owned the property.Subsequent archaeological examinations have uncovered a mid-14th century village, consisting of twelve longhouses, from 42 to 139 feet in length, protected by a double palisade.Agriculture prospered and the shipping industry benefitted from the natural harbour.Timber, coal, general merchandise and passengers arrived by ship.It was probably occupied for about 10 to 20 years by a group of some 500 people who were predecessors of the Huron and Petun Indians.
By the 1880's, tourism was becoming a factor in the economy; passenger boats, largely from the U. In the 1900s, industry in the area declined in the 1900's and the harbor began getting fewer ships as the other modes of transportation improved. Development began to be directed in that direction; for example, the harbor was modified for pleasurecraft, the town was beautified and an increasing number of cottages were built.On December 17, 1998, the Province renamed the three communities; since then, it has been the Town of Saugeen Shores.Close to Mac Gregor Point Provincial Park and Southampton, the community has several beaches on Lake Huron."With clear skies, a dry atmosphere, and an unobstructed view of the skyline, many of the west-facing towns along the shores of Lake Huron have the perfect conditions for a breathtaking sunset.Port Elgin, a Saugeen Shores community, has been earning rave reviews for years.